Compaxboats

Designing and Building a Microcruiser

Hartbeespoort Dam

On Saturday 10 March 2012 I spent the weekend on the water at Hartbeespoort Dam. The excercise was to really test the motor and run it for many hours and to regularly stop and start to ensure easy starting and general reliability. All in all I ran for about 7 hours continuously. The little Parson 5hp fourstroke is really fantastic. My top speed was between 5.3 and 5.7 knots WOT and what really surprised me is that I could run very comfortably at 4.5 knots at approx 3200 rpm. At 2000 rpm I can do a very easy 2.5 to 3 knots.

She runs like a dream and I am 100% happy with the fuel consumption at about 5 litres to 7 hours of messing about, often wasting fuel running WOT. Hartbeespoort is beautiful between the mountains, it is just a pity that the water is terribly polluted.

I made a nice Video for the guys at Boatdesign.net

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=korQgkY9HS8&context=C40500faADvjVQa1PpcFMqorUAmB0Nq7KjgB8OY2I2W0DRFmdcf6Q=

You can read the post here

http://www.boatdesign.net/forums/boat-building/manies-microcruiser-27869-43.html#post538215

 

 

 

March 12, 2012 - Posted by | Boatbuilding

No comments yet.

Leave a comment